Church of the Good Shepherd Roll of Honour, Ongaonga

Roll of Honour Roll of Honour WWII Memorial

The Anglican Church of the Good Shepherd, Ongaonga, displays the district’s First World War roll of honour and a memorial to one Second World War soldier. The polished brass memorial tablet is mounted in a wooden frame and headed: “In Memoriam. In grateful memory of soldiers from this district who made the supreme sacrifice in the Great War 1914-1918”.

It lists the same 25 men as on the Ongaonga First World War memorial, although chronologically by date of death rather than alphabetically by surname. They are: Percy C. Wilson, Noel Shippard, James A. Littlejohn, Roland W. Guy, Samuel F. Fletcher, Rupert Collin, Richard T. Peers, Arthur Knight, Albert E. Peters, Arthur  J. Evans, John W. Petersen (Peterson), Percy R. Carr, Edward Persen, Lance W. Hardy, Alfred W. Jury, Joseph Tucker, Arthur Symons, Harold J. Fletcher, Einer Pedersen, Oswald Hobbs, George Pitt, J. Connery, J. Connolly, John Crosbie and N. Hamilton. Until space ran out, the roll of honour also gave each man’s age and the place and date of death.

There is also an individual memorial plaque in memory of Lancelot Wilberforce Whitaker (Lance W. Hardy), who was killed in action at La Bassee Ville on 26 July 1917. The baptismal font was presented to the church in memory of Basil Rudolph Dassler, who died on active service in Egypt on 7 August 1942.

Community contributions

1 comment has been posted about Church of the Good Shepherd Roll of Honour, Ongaonga

What do you know?

sean o'dwyer

Posted: 11 Oct 2017

how many folks in Waipawa between 1914-1919. A.D. also where is John Holden grave. ???? He died in 1919 around tiko or waipawa.