Scott Dixon wins Indianapolis 500

25 May 2008

Scott Dixon after winning the Indy 500, 2008 (Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

While Formula One attracts the greatest international attention, the Indianapolis (or ‘Indy’) 500 is rated by motorsport enthusiasts as one of the three most significant races in the world, alongside the Le Mans 24-Hour Race and the Monaco Grand Prix.

In recent years it has been part of the lucrative Indy Racing League, which Scott Dixon won in his debut season of 2003. His victory at the Brickyard in 2008, the first Indianapolis 500 win by a New Zealander, helped him secure his second championship. This achievement saw him recognised as the 2008 Sportsman of the Year at the New Zealand Halberg awards.

One television list of New Zealand sports’ greatest moments rated it number 40 out of 100. By the time he won his fourth IndyCar title in 2015, Dixon had won 38 of his 215 IndyCar races. By mid-2019 Dixon had 45 wins and was third on the all-time IndyCar list.

In 2012 he was appointed Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit. A documentary film, Born racer: the Scott Dixon story, was released in 2018.

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Scott Dixon wins Indianapolis 500

What do you know?