Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
22Sheet 9 — The East Coast SheetTawarauTawarauTe Aitanga-a-MāhakiTe Whānau-a-Taupara, Te Whānau-a-KaiTūranga 5-12 May 1840

Tawarau signed the East Coast sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi between 5 and 12 May 1840 at Tūranga (now Gisborne). He was a rangatira (chief) of the Te Whānau-a-Taupara and Te Whānau-a-Kai hapū (subtribes) of Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki.

This may have been Marae Tawarau, a signatory to the sale of the Poverty Bay Blocks in 1868.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

How to cite this page

'Tawarau', URL:, (Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated 29-Jun-2016

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Tawarau

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...